Training Tuesday #1

As I mentioned in my last post, training has been pretty tough recently – I’m getting through my sessions but that’s all I feel like I’m doing, getting through them.

I tick off each session without feeling any accomplishment or satisfaction and I’m really hoping those feelings will break soon enough.

That said I’ve started a few things that are new to me:-

Although I’m a pretty confident swimmer my times haven’t been getting any better for a while now so I decided to take a course of technique swim sessions. My tri club do a 20 week course that breaks down each element of the swim so I started going to that towards the end of last year – I’ve really enjoyed getting into the pool and doing more structured sessions as I usually just go and swim for a set period of time or distance. My times haven’t really changed much as annoyingly I wasn’t really doing much wrong (I was hoping I was doing something horribly wrong that, once changed, would give a couple of minutes on my swim times. Alas no!) but I’m hoping there will be a lightbulb moment sometime soon and my times will start going down.

I’ve spent a lot of the last few weeks with uncontrollable hair and soggy gym bags but I do actually enjoy swimming and I’ve met some really nice people at my class so I’ve, for the most part, had a good time.

Swim Stuff

I’ve also been doing a fair amount of indoor brick workouts (the weather hasn’t been great in Scotland up until recently) so my Friday afternoons have generally consisted of a workout on the Wattbikes at my local gym followed by a treadmill run.

Indoor Brick

I also recently did a run followed by a swim and I can honestly say I’m so glad that the swim section of a triathlon is first! I was absolutely knackered after squeezing my sweaty self into my swimsuit after my run!

I’m also trying to master the art of clip in pedals to try and fool people into thinking I’m a grown up cyclist! I’m barely even a cyclist but hey I’m queen of ‘All the gear and no idea!’

S and I went to our local outdoor cycle track and he helped me to learn how to clip in and out and stopping and starting. I still have a lot of work to do with regards to using my gears and general confidence riding on the roads but I’m making a start at least!

Clip In Pedals

I have since managed to lose those fingerless gloves! Gutted!!

Leave a Reply

