It’s been a while…

I know its been a while since I’ve written anything – nothing bad has happened and training has been going to plan but the problem with work being quite busy and meeting all my training sessions means that I have even less time to write everything down.

I’ve been pleased with my training sessions recently – I had a major breakthrough with my running the other week which was great!

Sometimes in my PT sessions we start with something called a cooper test which is basically a 12 minute run which starts at a steady pace and increases every minute up until the 12 minutes are over.

You’re meant to finish the 12 minutes as spent as possible but obviously the trick is to learn how to pace yourself enough that you can last the 12 minutes and have enough of a kick to be able to increase your pace.

Now I’m not a fast runner at all – I’m actually the slowest runner at my tri club training sessions which doesn’t bother me most times but sometimes gets me down that I feel like I’ve been running for long enough now that it should feel easier than it does – running is still very hard for me, I know I’m never going to be a ‘natural’ runner by any means but I would like to be able to have an easy run pace – I’m a very numbers orientated person and so I’m always looking to improve my pace etc but I would like to get to a point where on a lazy Sunday morning I can go out for an easy run to start the day – quite frankly none of my runs are easy and the pace I run at (10:30min / mile) if I slowed down any further I’d be walking! I would love it if my runs could get to an 8:30 minute mile and then I can go out and do a ‘social’ run at about my current 10:30 minute mile pace. That would be my perfect goal anyway.

Anyway, back to the Cooper test thing. I was getting more and more disheartened because I couldn’t for the life of me get past the 2km distance in the 12 minutes. I’d reach about 1.97km each and every time and just couldn’t get past it!

After whining and moaning to my PT about it he decided to change it up a bit for me. Still using the same steady pace start and gradually increasing speed format of the Cooper test he got me to change my objective and instead aim for the 2km distance instead of the 12 minutes in the hopes that I would be able to gauge my effort better based on distance rather than time.

My first attempt at this got me to 2km in 12 minutes 19 seconds – how annoying is that!

But the distance thing worked for me – the problem with having a set time to work to is that it doesn’t matter how fast you’re going, you are still going to be running for that length of time – for me, mentally that’s really hard as I tend to hold back in the thought that I have to run for that set period of time. When using a set distance I find it easier to push myself because the faster you go the sooner it will be over! Lol – what did I say about not enjoying running still!

Anyway – last Monday morning I went to the gym with the intention of doing my 2km run test thing and have a quick swim before work.

I’d had a terrible night’s sleep the night before and was shattered so when I forgot my phone (intended to use to take a picture of my distance and time to show M what I’d done) at the gym I didn’t think about going back for it because ‘today was not going to be a PB day’ – oh how wrong I was!

For the first time ever I made it to 2km in under 12 minutes! My actual time was 11 minutes 57 seconds! I couldn’t believe it and the best part of it was that it was tough but not vomit inducing – I definitely felt like I had something in the tank to gain a couple of seconds eventually.

I was so annoyed that I didn’t have my phone with me to take a picture! Oh the irony! The gym was quite quiet, mainly guys doing their morning weights session so I tried to quickly go back downstairs to the changing rooms and grab my phone from my locker. I went back upstairs to my treadmill but the summary screen had timed out and try as I might I couldn’t retrieve the last workout summary from the console(turns out you can’t on my gym’s treadmills!)!! Gutted! I need verification from others to prove that something happened especially with regards to fitness. The last thing I would want to say is that I’d done something and then never be able to recreate it again – if I do something once in front of someone, even if I never manage it again at least there’s a witness to confirm that it actually happened! I know I’m crazy!

So anyway, I went to PT that evening determined to re-produce my morning’s success.

I usually get to the gym about 5 – 10 minutes before my session is due to start and hop on a treadmill to do a bit of a warm up before M comes over to meet me and tell me what I’m doing that session.

When I got into the gym I saw M in the office having his afternoon snack so I quickly jumped on the treadmill and after a very short warm up walk I re-started the treadmill and started running just as I’d done that morning.

I’d been running for about 5 minutes before M came over and laughed as I garbled why he couldn’t make me stop running and how I was determined to do my 2km again.

I couldn’t believe it but I managed it again! I did my second 2km of the day in 11:55!! I’d not only reached a goal that eluded me for months twice in one day but I’d even gained a couple of seconds on the morning’s run!

Needless to say I felt like I could take on anything that day!

Now I need to think of a new goal…

Leave a Reply

