It begins…

I’ve started this blog to document my journey to becoming an Ironman Irongirl well, technically a HALF Ironman but I reckon even the half distance is good enough and long enough to warrant being called an Ironman. My goal event is the Half Ironman in St Polten, Austria taking place next May (2016).

I think I should also point out that as I write this I have yet to take part in any triathlon whatsoever – my first Sprint distance event is this weekend and quite frankly I’m terrified. However, I’ve been through a couple of ‘interesting’ things during my pretty short lifetime so I reckon I can take on a sprint tri and live to tell the tale –or at least I hope so!

Today is the first day of my training for my half marathon in October – I’m still not really sure what kind of plan to commit to, I’m 18 weeks away from my event and I’ve downloaded the Hal Higdon Novice Half Marathon Training Plan and adjusted it to account for 18 weeks instead of 12 (I’ve basically doubled up on the first 6 weeks) which means that tonight’s run should be a 2 mile run but my Triathlon coach wants me to get more time on my feet and has started my first run at a 50 minute duration so I’m not really sure what to do. I need to pick one and stick with it because I know I’ll end up taking the easier session when I inevitably have bad days which will mean that I fail on both accounts.

I also want to try and maintain a good base with regards to my swimming and cycling – I swim pretty regularly and want to start taking some coached sessions as at the moment I tend to just get in the pool and swim a mile which is ok as it stands but I’m not getting any faster or more efficient by doing this

‘Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results’ Albert Einstein

I also go to an open water swim session on a Friday morning which is a coached session. I’m in the novice / slow coach group but I actually really enjoy it and don’t mind that I’m one of the slower ones – I’ll be honest, I’m a pretty slow mover anyway so I might as well get used to being a slower member of the group, pride is definitely going to take a battering along this journey!

With regards to the bike, I have a beautiful carbon road bike that I bought this New Year but am a bit of a wimp when it comes to riding on the roads! Once again I need to get over that – Unfortunately Ironman Triathlons don’t take place on a turbo trainer!

I feel like I have a lot to work on and even though I have the best part of a year to get there I’m very conscious that this will fly by – wish me luck!!

Leave a Reply

